Meet a Consultant: Ashley Dunomes

IMG_0112

In today’s Meet a Consultant interview, we find out why she began working at the UK Writing Center, what annoys her, and what exactly happened to that guitar she had when she was eight.

UKWC: Why did you start working at the Writing Center?
Ashley: I want to work in publishing some day, maybe as an editor.

UKWC: When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
Ashley: I wanted to be a singer. I was obsessed with Michael Jackson. I was in choir and I loved singing all the time.

UKWC: Can you play instruments, too?
Ashley: Well, I had some random instruments when I was in school, like a recorder and a keyboard, but I can’t really play them. I used to have a guitar, but I slammed it on the ground and broke it when I was eight years old because I wanted to be so metal.

UKWC: Whoa! Did you get into trouble?
Ashley: Um… I don’t think my parents found out.

UKWC: What’s annoying to you?
Ashley: I don’t like it when people don’t respect other people’s beliefs and identity, and then they call that disrespect their “opinion.” You know how people sometimes say “I don’t mean to be offensive, but…”? If you have to start out a sentence like that, just don’t say it.

UKWC: What’s a Writing Center Consultant superpower?
Ashley: PATIENCE. Because sometimes it’s good to remain un-ruffled.

Leave a Reply

