Meet a Consultant: Tracey Vail

IMG_6344In this interview, UKWC talks with Tracey about animals, free movies, and consulting with professors. What else would one want in life?

UKWC: When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
Tracey: A veterinarian, or a marine biologist. I was obsessed with animals. My sister and I would look at the newspaper, at the lost pet section, and then we’d go out and try to find them.

UKWC: What animal is the cutest?
Tracey: Penguins. I love penguins, they’re adorable. Otters are really cute too. I wish I could have one… actually, if I could have any pet, it would be a loris because it would just chill out on my shoulder and look at people with its big eyes.

UKWC: What was your favorite toy when you were a kid?
Tracey: I have a little horse beanie baby. One day I left it on top of my parents’ car and it rained. I found it and cried, because it was all wet and dirty. But I went on carrying it everywhere.

UKWC: So, you’ve been at UK for awhile now… what’s something that new students don’t know, but should?
Tracey: The Worsham Theater shows free movies. And it’s a really wide range of movies, too! They show them very often, several nights a week I think. It’s awesome.

UKWC: Is there anything you didn’t know before you started working at the Writing Center, that you know now?
Tracey: I didn’t know that professors can get help with their writing, just as students can.

UKWC: Have you consulted with professors?
Tracey: I’ve worked with a few. It’s a good time. They’re very humble and open to learning.

Leave a Reply

