Meet a Consultant: Rachel Allgeier

IMG_6306

Today, UKWC talks with consultant Rachel Allgeier about international students, teaching, and playing the clarinet badly.

UKWC: Do you write a lot?
Rachel: Not just for fun, but I write a lot for class. I’m in English Ed, so I write more than many other majors.

UKWC: So you’re looking into a career in teaching others how to write?
Rachel: Yes. I feel like writing is a way to make everything happen, to communicate who you are, to keep in touch, and tell stories.

UKWC: When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
Rachel: That changed a lot. For awhile I wanted to be a marine biologist, but sharks were scary. Eventually I wanted to be a teacher. I would aggravate my friends by playing school and bossing them around.

UKWC: What have you learned since working at the Writing Center?
Rachel: I never knew what a large international student population we have here at UK. That’s been my favorite thing about working at the Writing Center. I’m getting interested in teaching ESL because I enjoy working with international students so much.

UKWC: Have you gone to International Conversation Hour?
Rachel: I have! How many opportunities do you get to talk with people from all over the world at one table?

UKWC: Can you play music?
Rachel: God no. I played the clarinet as a kid, but I started playing poorly on purpose because I wanted to quit.

Leave a Reply

