Meet a Consultant: Melissa Crawford

IMG_6301

Melissa has just started her fourth semester of working as a consultant at the UK Writing Center. In this interview, we talked about Engineering, Barbies, and learning to play the harmonica.

 

UKWC: What are you asked the most at the Writing Center?
Melissa: Most people ask me if I’m an English major.

UKWC: What is your major?
Melissa: Chemical Engineering.

UKWC: Have you ever been pleasantly surprised by how much you enjoyed a class?
Melissa: Yeah, I really enjoyed Organic Chemistry, which is the class most people hate. I like Organic Chemistry because it’s all around us in our lives. I can apply it when I’m cooking food, and all kinds of things like that.

UKWC: Can you describe a moment, during your time at UK, when you helped someone and it made you happy?
Melissa: I worked at a robotics camp over the summer. All the campers are girls between the ages of 12 and 16. I help them use this LEGO program where you can build a robot and program it to perform actions. It was a lot of fun.

UKWC: What was your favorite toy when you were a kid?
Melissa: Barbies. I had so many Barbies. That’s all I ever played with! I had two older sisters so I got all their old barbies, too.

UKWC: Can you play music?
Melissa: Yes. I can play the guitar, the piano, and I’m learning the harmonica.

UKWC: Wow! You’re multi-talented. What’s playing the harmonica like?
Melissa: Very hard!

Leave a Reply

