Write your own SPOOKY STORY with random plot generators!

5331296718_a7a9d8ba19_b

I went for a walk on the internet today, looking for assistance with writing your OWN spooky story. There’s some great articles out there about the key features of scary stories, such as fast.co’s discussion with Brad Falchuk, creator of the hit cable series American Horror Story.

But what about the FIRST step of writing, getting an idea? Handwritten brainstorming lists are my fave, but what we really all need are more excuses to waste time on the internet… am I right? In that case, let me introduce you to RANDOM HORROR STORY PLOT GENERATORS!! (insert *ba bum BUUUUUM* music here.)

This random horror plot generator is pretty simple… click the button, and a scary horror plot pops up! Well, “scary” might be pushing it, unless you happen to be terrified of widows. This randomizer seems to be obsessed with widows. I got a fabulously funny plot that I just have to share:

Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 9.46.26 AM

A werewolf with a jack-in-the-box? That’s pretty freaky. In fact, to heck with WEREwolves, an actual WOLF with a jack-in-the-box, stalking hikers in the woods, would be equally weird.

For a longer, more involved storyline, try out this mad-lib style horror story plot generator. I typed in some names, adjectives, nouns, etc…

Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 9.39.20 AM

And the plot generator gave me a storyline. It’s, err, interesting….

Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 9.41.11 AM

Wow, I can’t wait to type up my new horror novel! No, I mean it, I can’t wait to type it, shop it, or publish it. And I don’t have to. The generator gave me some reviews:

Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 9.41.22 AM

It’s pretty hilarious. You nerds out there will notice that this program fails the Turing Test. I told it that Tina was Fredrick’s niece. Let’s hope they DON’T get married.

I don’t think either of these generators come up with anything TRULY scary. For that, we’d need to mine our psychological whatsits. But who wants to do that, with midterms doing it for us?

3 responses to “Write your own SPOOKY STORY with random plot generators!

  1. I totally agree. its rubbish. we just need inspiration. I am writing a horror story and it has to be 250 words. I need a girl ghost with blonde hair and blue eyes. and basically every day bits of my skin is being picked off because of her, she wants me to let her in. but I don’t know how and they all say don’t trust her and stuff. can u give me the best story starter ever please?

Leave a Reply

